click here if you are having troubles navigating on our site  

I’ve been a fan of Chris Olley ever since I heard Six By Seven’s Ten Places to Die in 1999. So when I found out he’d started work on another project called Twelve that was more experimental & that he didn’t have an album released yet, but did have half a dozen singles, I knew I had to get to put out there first album. – Brian John Mitchell

About Twelve

Twelve is a new project of Six By Sevens’ vocalist/guitarist Chris Olley, featuring Tee Dymond on vocals & drums by Six By Seven’s Chris Davis. While this is more experimental than a lot of Six By Seven material (from the opening Eno-esque drone of 24 guitars on "Intro" through the melancholy country-inspired “Now”) it remains a beautifully understated collection of songs and instrumentals. Bittersweet ballads, pulsing electronica, loops, & guitar exploration all so finely honed that they could sneak in as pop music at times.

Like nearly all of the records we release as well as all the albums we love here at Silber, First Album was recorded & produced by the band itself. It was recorded by Chris Olley at the Batcave in Nottingham to keep the songs pure & uncompromising, & to allow an ear for every intricate detail.

While Twelve do possess some of the same sonic sensibilities associated with others in the current British experimental pop scene, their sound is more personal & emotionally evocative. If Neil Young was writing Harvest with Low as his backing band or if Lou Reed had teamed up with Eno for Berlin it might sound something like this.

Twelve's second installment Be Careful What You Don't Wish For continues the experiments going from Kraftwerkian beats to krautrock.

Twelve Discography

First Album
CD Album 2003 | Silber 031
8 tracks, 43 minutes
$12 ($18 international, $5 download (256 kbps, ~80 megs))
: Listen to the track Talkin' About
: Press Release
: Reviews
twelve - be careful what you dont wish for be careful what you don't wish for
CD Album 2006 | Saturday Night Sunday Morning 08
15 tracks, 63 minutes
: Listen to the track I Hung a Stone Around Our Love
: Press Release